Brevity of Life

Posted: November 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

Image result for brevity of life images

adashofsunny Prompt Nights – Brevity’s the flower that contends not with bunch, rather it blooms  by Sanaa Rizvi

 

I am a being for a minute time out of a vast eternity
flesh and blood, bone and gristle, brain and soul
formed of passion, navigating toward maturity,
enlightenment, some validation for this breath.

I am one of billions, part of all, yet all alone
a single voice that feels bewildered, bohemian, descant

I want to matter now and when I’m dead
I want the wind to remember my fragrance,
the trees recall my smile, the sun my fire,
the land forlorn for my footsteps and my song.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh Debi ❤️❤️ this is such a deep and evocative write! Especially love and resonate with these lines “I am one of billions, part of all, yet all alone a single voice that feels bewildered, bohemian, descant” sigh.. beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support❤️❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gillena Cox says:

    ” the wind to remember my fragrance,
    the trees recall my smile, the sun my fire,
    the land forlorn for my footsteps and my song.”

    Luv your thoughts for posterity

    much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oldegg says:

    Deep down I think many of us feel this way that part of us lingers on ro be remembered fondly by all that we have loved. This is really beautiful Debi.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vijita says:

    I want to matter now and when I am dead….. so true..
    so deep…
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Khaya Ronkainen says:

    This line stands out, “I am one of billions, part of all, yet all alone”.
    Sincere and expressive piece, and some of us can relate. Beautifully penned, Debi!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this. Mostly because it is true: we are so many things, but in the end we are ourselves–full of wants and needs and daring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

