One of Many gods

Posted: September 13, 2016 in Uncategorized

- Rob Woodcox
photo from mindlovemisery

(Soapbox day – I’m not real smart about politics. I’m not even very good about thinking, it wasn’t taught to me, I mean, logic and figuring things out rationally. But, I am good at asking questions of myself about what I believe. My convictions have changed over the years – about many things and I’m still questioning. But, I think that is a good thing.)

 

Nationalism is one of our pantheon gods
Her name is holy. Her banner sacred.
We worship with song of praise
to her name. We proclaim her identity
as the greatest in the world. In. The. World.

Kaepernick, what’s wrong with you man?
You making the big bucks in this land and
you won’t stand for her? Patriots won’t
take that lying down… you owe her man,
big time. She is the dream, the way, the truth,
the light, the life, Christian Nation…

“”Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Oh, the irony.

You think I’m dissing her? Think taking a knee is dissing her?
No, just the people who mindlessly follow the clichéd crowd,
not the land’s fault, it is her fallen ideals, the people
in their self-made, tiny box of ‘privilege’ who will
not see, venture to ponder, dare to admit the caste
system in America. She’s a great, imperfect lady.
Let’s make her great
like she’s never before been.

poem for mindlovemisery and imaginarygarden

Everyone has an opinion about Kaepernick. This is just mine. I’m not proud of my country but I love America. I don’t believe in every war but I’m proud of the men and women who have given their service, and many their lives, to defend her.  I’m thankful that we have the freedom to speak our beliefs even though many want to deny other’s that very right. We all belong to a race – it’s called Human. Now if we could act it.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. In my view patriotism is about emotions not symbols, and every one who look more at what other’s do should look at themselves… just like religion, it’s what you do that matters not how you act with symbols.. The only reason to hold on to symbols is to make sure they can’t be hijacked by those claiming to be the only patriots…which is what happened in many places around the world. And patriotism is not the same as nationalism.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thotpurge says:

    Timely and thought provoking…the definition of nationalism and patriotism is often twisted to suit vested interests, much to everyone else’s detriment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    Well said, Debi……to be great, this world needs to knock the privileged out of the halls of power and put real folks in there. But that takes time and time we do not have.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kerry O'Connor says:

    Though I am remove from the specific debate, I can appreciate the sentiment you have expressed here. Patriotism is a double-edged sword and certainly open to interpretation in practice.

    Like

  5. Jim says:

    Thank you, Debi, we really need to think about this and study the various view points. I have changed mine a little since he started his demonstrations. I think those following his example have their growing group, follow the leader. Sort of like our hippie movement, it will die out mostly, though a few areas and even states (two??) are still full of the old timer hippies.
    So he doesn’t stand tall and put his hand to his heart. Others aren’t either, all ages and nationalities. The other day at our church, over 1500 attending, at least 1/3 of those standing for the National Anthem (some didn’t stand, various reasons, some for health) DID NOT have their hand over their heart. Quite a few were singing regardless of where their hand was. Next time you are out, check it out. It is an ‘etiquette’ thing, not a law, and that changed since I can remember.
    BTW, most all of us Vets were doing it “right”. And I hurt a little when people aren’t giving the “proper respect.”
    Oh yes, I changed my message a little since your visit. I was in the process while you were there.
    ..

    Like

    • Jim, thanks for the comment. My dad was Army and so was my son. I certainly respect and support our troops. I don’t see this movement as disrespect for our military but as a shout that not everyone in America is treated the same. I didn’t understand the “black lives matter” at first. I thought, yeah, but, all lives matter (and they do) but I’m not targeted by bad cops. I’m not subjected to the prejudice. The color of my skin has not been a deterrent to me. This country has a looooong way to go before we are color blind. I know this is a complicated issue but it has been a long time since the civil rights movement of the 60’s and still don’t have it right.

      Like

  6. kim881 says:

    I don’t really understand American politics but your poem really got to me,. I agree with Bjorn on this, that patriotism is about emotions not symbols. Unfortunately, some people have the ability to stir up the wrong kind of emotions and use them for their own means, while others do things for honourable reasons and are criticised. It’s the human dilemma – we’re imperfect and some of us won’t accept that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Suyash says:

    Very timely poem. Well written 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

