Wind from the Sea

Posted: June 11, 2016 in Uncategorized


Andrew Wyeth – Wind from the Sea (1947)

imaginarygarden  Artistic Interpretations with Margaret – Andrew Wyeth 

 

On certain days (or maybe certain moods)
when a breath of breeze lifts the curtains
to billow out in diaphanous swells,
I fancy it brings a hint of brine, whiff of sun,
a soupçon of marine blue, a whisper of yen.
Almost, I see the ruddy turnstone, the willet
the sanderling scuttling along the shoreline.
Almost, I hear the waves lapping softly,
and the entrancing white noise of the sea.
It’s strong this gentle steady tugging,
heady the scents of sand and sea,
sweet the sounds of dashing coastal birds…
but I have chores and cares that keep me here
and a stronger gravity of familial responsibility.
I wrench myself from the breathy temptress
and breathe the scents of home.

Comments
  1. I know that sent, the lure of wind.. how if can call you to away to shores from chores.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kerry O'Connor says:

    The smell of the sea breeze is redolent with memory. You have explored this idea with a remarkable eye for detail in this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, sun definitely has a scent as well…I love the senses that you brought to this piece, Debi.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. and a stronger gravity of familial responsibility.
    I wrench myself from the breathy temptress
    and breathe the scents of home

    However much one wants to venture out family comes first. The ‘pull’ of home is stronger and where all the love are for the asking. Great ending debi!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wonder how many times the sea has been a topic of dreams and poetry? It always satisfies.

    Like

  6. Yes, the seduction of the breeze outside a window…More often than not it brings daydreaming

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

