Hand of Time

Posted: May 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

mindlovemisery Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille May 11th 2016 the circle of life
“This week I have a theme that you have to use for your haibun. That theme is “the circle of life” and your haibun may have a maximum of 100 words (including the haiku).”

 

Grandma’s hands were busy hands, tough hands, gentle hands, comforting hands, loving hands. I held her hand marveling at the knobby knuckles, brown spots and puffy veins. I traced the ropy, blue rivers running across the back comparing mine to hers. I tried to imagine mine like hers but couldn’t comprehend the possibility.

Now, I hold your hand, grandson, and watch as you look with wonder at my aging, crepey hands. I marvel right along with you and try to remember them as yours are now.

 

The hands of time
linked to the past and future
have touched my own

Comments
  1. Wow what a beautiful haibun Debi. Your haiku is nicely created and can even be used as a “stand-alone” haiku. Chapeau!

    Like

Leave a Reply

