How Dare the Sun

Posted: April 5, 2016 in Uncategorized

imaginarygarden The Tuesday Platform Imagined By Marian
“For those who need a prompt today, or who just want to revel, I offer this *optional* extra challenge: VILLANELLE

My first (possibly last) Villanelle.  

 

How dare the sun shine so clear
and birds chirp a perky to do
when my heart has gone so drear

How craven of the clouds to be that sheer
a scant pale against the blue
How dare the sun shine so clear

and all nature callously appear
to hold a contrary point of view
when my heart has gone so drear

How can the world be filled with cheer
when just the opposite is true
How dare the sun shine so clear

Even the somber old owl that’s near
is brightly who who-ing, too
when my heart has gone so drear

I long for dark clouds to appear
for in my grief joy is taboo
How dare the sun shine so clear
when my heart has gone so drear

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Fiery and passionate Villanelle Debi 🙂
    Beautifully penned.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nature can be quite contrary, can’t she? When we hurt and wither, flowers shouldn’t bloom so bright.

    I kind of love the outrage consuming this speaker. Does that make me terrible?

    Like

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    It MUST not be your last villanelle, because you are very good at them. I find them more difficult than the pantoum, my preferred form. Your title makes me smile………….you wrote this so well. Loved it.

    Like

  4. Jim says:

    Debi, I second Sherry’s recommendation. This one is very nice, the rhyme all works, and the message is conveyed nicely.

    Like

  5. Oh please let the Villanelle’s coming… I love what you did here… even spring can be said… of course it pains when buds are bursting.

    Like

  6. Splendid. Shouldn’t be the last.

    Like

  7. Oh yes, it is just like that when we grieve. And, like everyone else who has commented, I admire your villanelle.

    Like

  8. ava says:

    I can completely relate to this. The second stanza is my favorite.

    Like

  9. Marian says:

    Who-whooooo tackled a villanelle? Well done! Freaking difficult. Never again! 🙂

    Like

  10. This is really nice, and melancholy does well with repetition….

    Liked by 1 person

  11. abarn003 says:

    Very creative and witty! Perhaps THIS is the fairy tale I’ll be teaching my daughter. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

