Still Lazarus

Posted: March 2, 2016 in Uncategorized

MargoRoby Poem Tryouts: Be Still My Beating Heart
“A word day, yes? Still. When I hear still, I think unmoving. A logical offshoot, then, is the meaning quiet. We can have tranquility or noiselessness. A little harder to see is the meaning even yet, as in, Still, I don’t know about going into the storm. To see how that works and to look more closely at etymology and meanings, I have given you two links. As to what to do with the word, Choose one meaning and have the poem reflect that meaning.”

 

Lazarus woke up, greeted family and friends,
ate, made merry, then fell into a stillness
of introspection and wonder…
I was alive. I was dead. I am alive again.
And still, I wonder what it means
to live, to be, to be me.

Why is this story unfinished?
Was his resurrection the climax of his life?
The reason for his life?
Did he accomplish other things?
Spend time looking over his shoulder?
Bask in the unexpected fame?
Make each second count
or live in fear of the next death?

Each day I awake
to introspection and wonder…
what does it means
to live, to be, to be me?
Lazarus is still silent.

Comments
  1. Quite an introspective glimpse, Debi! I like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    Odd how different passages of words make us think.
    The quotes of the famed, and the silence of those we thought we loved.
    And those we never got the chance to meet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

