Music to Die By

Posted: February 25, 2016 in Uncategorized

dverseMe, Myself and I…or is it?  Posted by Victoria C. Slotto
For today’s prompt, I would like you to write a poem using the first person–an apparent first person. Perhaps you will leave your reader wondering if you are actually the “person” of if this is a fictional character.

I chose death because I already had an idea in place and wanted to use it.

This heart thumps wildly
then settles to a rhythm
like a slow dance
to music only the dog
can hear. I want to comfort
him but no words come.
I manage a feeble smile.
L
oved ones gather round.
I feel myself slipping
into cool, calm waters,
floating…
outside the bedroom window
a breeze plays the leaves
as the owl
taps his foot

on the offbeat
of
life.

 

Comments
  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is absolutely stunning Debi 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautiful. That line about the dog got to me. We I able to choreograph my death, I would also choose my own music, setting and the companionship of my dogs and someone who loves me and prays.

    Like

  3. This is really lovely Debi even if I feel it is about the moment of death….written beautifully.I hope it is that pleasant.

    Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    This is very beautiful and almost comforting in the ease as the last moments come. I love the fade out the window to the owl.

    Like

  5. whimsygizmo says:

    A lovely ending, indeed. We should all be so lucky.

    Like

  6. kanzensakura says:

    Beautiful. I think we all wish we could choreograph our death…cat or dog with me, loved ones, their prayers….just gorgeous.

    Like

  7. Very moving. May it be long deferred!

    Like

  8. Oh that end, may we pass like that when the end comes.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mary says:

    A very powerful write! The end of the poem / the end of life is stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Love the owl; here in the NW, the natives have a legend, “If the owl calls your name, it is your time.”
    I’m in my 70’s now, & the Grand Transition draws ever closer. Your poem was lovely, touching, without trappings of grief.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Candy says:

    bravo! and I love the owl tapping its forr as if impatient

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Candy says:

    well that owl should be tappinf its foot, of course 😉

    Like

  13. Divine death I think…I just adore the animal view that you bring in, Debi. Love your voice in this.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Bryan Ens says:

    “The offbeat of life” – what a great phrase!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is wonderful! The rhythm of the heart and nature create a graceful transition to the other side.

    Like

  16. Metronome heARt at the end
    of my wife’s mother’s life..
    Preacher at bedside..
    60.. 55..
    45.. 37..
    20….
    the rain
    outside the
    window pours
    harder and
    harder..
    silence….

    Like

Leave a Reply

