Treacherous Heart

Posted: December 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

mindlovemisery #136 “Collage 12″ by mindlovemisery

 

The heart is a treacherous thing
loving what it should not love
longing for things not longing back
lingering over the hurtful past.
I light a candle of star anise
to silhouette what’s between
the shadow and the soul.
It flutters to life with raging wings,
opening my fists, I release the pain,
sharp as the beak of a raptor.
It flies away for other prey.
My heart and I begin a new chapter.

Comments
  1. Wow Debi this is gorgeous those opening lines blew me away!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, yes! All true and so well written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

