Don’t Give Up

Posted: December 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

mindlovemisery Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille
“I love to challenge you to write a haibun (prose and poetry) with a maximum of 75 words including the haiku.”

 

Already there have been several hard frosts. Now, after three days of wind and cold rain, I see the lilac tree has dropped her leaves that had stubbornly hung on. They make a crinkled circle around her feet like a discarded scarf. She is bare, but come spring she’ll wear a mantle of purple flowers in her hair.

When we feel hopeless
the promise of Spring
brings hope.

 

Comments
  1. The Real Cie says:

    Being the ass-backwards person that I am, I dread spring even though it’s beautiful, because I experience the most severe depressions in the spring rather than the fall and winter. It’s literally “reverse SAD.” It’s a beautiful Haibun, though!
    Thanks for visiting me at peppersfetch dot blogspot dot com.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a Winter person and I love Spring. It does offer hope! Wonderful Haibun.

    Like

  3. Rall says:

    Love this poem using winter as a metaphor. We all need hope to keep soldiering on.

    Like

  4. julespaige says:

    Odd the weather we are having. Still bugs in December – no real hard frost yet, though some light stuff…
    I’m here:
    Watcher

    Like

Leave a Reply

