How Are You?

Posted: November 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

Miz Quickly prompt 9
“Lord, Lord, how subject we old men are to the vice of lying!”   Shakespeare, Henry IV, Part II
Poem your favorite vice. You may be contrite. Maybe rueful. Wicked?”

I’m good, thanks for asking,
I always say even though inside I’m
shaky like I haven’t eaten in two days
and I plaster that smile across my face
but it feels like a mask about to crack
you’d be taken aback if you knew
the scream I’d like to scream at you.
I’m so confused about so many things
downside up upside down my heart pounds,
my brain reels, but, I’m good,
how are you?  Oh, good, too?  I see.
Someday that nut is gonna fall
hard and fast from that oak tree.

Comments
  1. julespaige says:

    Seems most of us can relate to each others vices.
    But who can we talk too – so we lift up our pens and scrawl.
    And blankity blank inside.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Misky says:

    My dear stoic friend … (hugs)

    Like

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    I love this. I hope you do have a true friend or two you can pour your whole heart out to.
    And we always, always have poems, yes? Hugs.

    Like

  4. Hope you have folks that you can scream at; we all need more than poetics sometimes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

