Song of Me

Posted: November 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

Miz Quickly 5: On the Face ” Write a self-portrait. Candid? Comic? Fractured?”

I am a being for a minute time out of a vast eternity
flesh and blood, bone and gristle, brain and soul
formed of passion, navigating toward maturity,
enlightenment, some validation for this breath.

I am one of billions
part of all yet all alone
a single voice that feels
bewildered, bohemian, descant

Who wants to matter now and when I’m gone
I want the wind to remember my fragrance,
the trees recall my smile, the sun my fire,
the earth forever murmuring my song.

Comments
  1. barbcrary says:

    This is beautiful, Debi. I think that each stanza could stand alone, but they work together as a whole too.

    Like

  2. julespaige says:

    1)some validation for this breath.
    2) bohemian
    3) I want the wind to remember my fragrance

    Yes, yes, and yes!!!
    And I like the other words too. 🙂

    Like

  3. And I wish I’d written THIS,

    “Who wants to matter now and when I’m gone
    I want the wind to remember my fragrance,
    the trees recall my smile, the sun my fire,
    the earth forever murmuring my song.”

    Truly emotive and SO beautiful!

    Like

  4. A wonderful song of me/you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

